A friend came into my office a few weeks ago. She talked about the stresses in her life. She said she was feeling anxious about a weekend trip in September. She was dreading attending a workshop in October. Then she would be dealing with the stress of the holidays. When she finished talking, I smiled and said, “So what I’m hearing is your intention is to be stressed out and anxious from now through January?” My words broke the spell of her worries and we both had a good laugh.

Intentions can be very powerful. They can bring reality to our inner thoughts and feelings. Many times I have woken up thinking how tired I am and how my day would be terrible because of x, y, and z. Not surprising that those thoughts turned into reality. My day would be terrible! The cool thing is I have the choice each day to choose a powerful, positive intention for myself.

Each day I have my to-do list for the day. I tend to work through my lists in haste to get it done and over with. What happens is I have a new list each day; I accomplish the tasks, and then what? My husband noticing how fixated I was on getting tasks done. He asked me, “How do you WANT to FEEL when you complete your work?” That question was very powerful. Some tasks make me feel anxious, bored, excited, etc..  I am beginning to ask myself, “How do I want to feel while doing ____.”  To say the least it has been incredibly powerful.

Today my intention is to be loving, joyful, compassionate, calm and to have fun!